GARNISH THE DEFENDANT'S
CHECKING, SAVINGS, or OTHER
ACCOUNTS

The defendant's checking, savings, or
other asset accounts can be gamished for
unpaid restitution. To collect these types
of assets, file the Request and Writ for
Granishment (Non-Periodic) [SCAQ
Form MC 13] in the court that issuad the
Judgment of Sentence. Use the original
crirminal case's “case number”. The crimi-
nal case judge must sign the form. You
will need the defendant's account num-
ber(s), social secunty number, etc. Then
serve it on banking institutions (the gar-
nishees) where the accounts are located.
Use separate Form MC 13s for each
banking institution. Serve the defendant,
whao has up 1o 14 days to file objections to
the wril with the court. A “banking ac-
count” gamnishment order is used once. If
your restitution is still not fully pasd, repeat
the process by filing a new MC 13 form
when you know or have good reason o
believe that the bank account has been
replenishad.

There is no fee for the filing of the Re-
quest and Writ For Garnishment in the
court. The Crime Viclim's Rights Act pro-
wices that the court shall not impose a fee
on a vichim o victim's estate for enforcing
an order of restitution. MCL 780.766(20).

GARNISH THE DEFENDANT'S
MICHIGAN INCOME TAX REFUND
or CREDIT

The defendant's Michigan income tax re-
fund or credit can be gamished for unpaid
resfitution. To collect this type of income,
file the Request and Writ for Gamish-
ment (Income Tax/Credit) [SCAD Famm
MC 52] in the court that issued the Judg-
ment of Sentence. Use the original crimi-
nal case's "case number”. The criminal
case judge must sign the form. You will
necd the defendant’s social security num.
ber. Then serve it on Michigan Depart-
ment of Treasury (the garnishee) with a
a6 fee. Serve the defendant, who has up
to 14 days to file objections to the writ
with the courl. An income fax gamish-
ment order is used once. If your restitu-
tion &5 still not fulty paid, repeat the proc-
ess. File a new MCS2 form for the next
year's income tax refund.

You may not garnish the defendant's
federal or local income fax refunds or
cradits.

There is no fee for the filing of the Re-
quest and Writ For Gamishmant in the
court. The Crime Victim's Rights Act pro-
vides that the coun shall not impose a fee
on a victim or victim's estate for enforcing
and order of resfitufion. MCL
TB0.766(20).

SEIZE & SELL THE
DEFENDANT'S ASSETS

To collect and sell physical assets, file a
Request and Order to Seize Property
form [SCAQ Form MC19]. The criminal
tase judge reviews and signs the order.
Serve it on the defendant. THEM serve it
on a court-appointed officer (e.g., sheriff's
civil division). The court officer (nof the
victim) can seize the defendant's property
and sell it at auction. The proceeds are
given 1o the victim(s). Excess proceads
ara refumed to the defendant.

ESTATE PROCEEDINGS

Since a restitution order is in efiect until it
i fully satisfied, it can be collected from
the assats of the defendant when hefshe
i alive, ag wall as from the estate of the
defendant. To do so. file a Statement and
Proof of Claim [SCAQ Form PC 579] in
the Probate Court of the County in which
the defendant lives.
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INTRODUCTION

Al sentencing or disposition, courts must
order "full restitution® to any victim of the
defendant’s course of conduct giving rise
to & conviction or adjudication {or to the
victim's estate). Mich Const 1963, Ar |,
Sec 24 (1), MCL 780.766{2). Restitution
must be a condition of probation or
parole, and probation officers must
review files twice a year regarding pay-
ments, MCL 780.766 (11), (18).

Stil, nat all restitulion arders are paid in
full during the defendant's term of proba-
tion. What can you do?

If your restitution order is not yet paid in
full, you must be proactive to collect it
An order of restitution is a civil judgment
and is recordable a a lien against the
defendant's property. You do not have fo
file a separate civil lawsuit unless you
have damages or losses that ane nod
covered by the restitution order (e.q.,
“pain a& suffering®). MCL TB0.786 (13).
A criminal case order of restitution
never expires until it is satisfied in
full. MCL 780.766 (13). It is not dis-
chargeable in bankruptcy. 11 USC
523{a)(6), (9) & 1328(a)3).

This brochure will help you start collect-
ing the remainder of restitution owed to
you, and guide you 1o the forms used.
You may contact a private attormey for

assistance in collecting the remaining
restitution, or you can complete the forms
yourself.

Due to space imitations, this brochure is
not a complete instruction for every ques-
tion that may arise, Please consult with
a private attorney if you have further

questions.

DISCOVERY OF ASSETS

Before you can begin self-help collection,
you have fo find out what assets the de-
fendant has.

serve an Affidavit of Judgment Debtor
[SCAD Form DC &7), or file a Subpoena
[SCAQ Form MC 11] for a Judgment
Debtor's Examination to find out what as-
galg, income sources, debls, etc. the de-
fendant has. Fill both sides of the Sub-
poena out completely; include a list of
documnents the defendant must bring to
the meeting (e.g., vehicle titles, property
deads, bank records, pay stubs, tax re-
twrns, credit card records). Your criminal
casa's judge must sign the subpoena.
You are responsible to serve the defen-
danl. Al the scheduled hearing, the de-
fendant must give you information about
assels, income, efc. These become
lmads for your collecton efforts.

RECORD THE LEIN

Recard "certified copies® of the Judgment
of Sentence and any Restitution Order at
a county Register of Deeds where the de-
fendant owns property. (You will need ad-
dresses and legal descriplions of the real
property owned by the defendant.) The
Judgment of Sentence acts as a lien
against the defendant’s real property,
“chouds the tithe” of the property, and can
be paid from the value of any of the regl
property when it is sold or transferred.
There may be a small fee to obtain a
certified copy of the Judgment of Sen-
tence from the original criminal case's
court clerk's office, and may also be a
small fee to record the document(s) at
the Register of Deeds.

GARNISH THE DEFENDANT'S
WAGES or OTHER INCOME

The defendani's wages (or other income
paid to the defendant on a regular, peri-
odic basis, like rent, land contract pay-
ments, etc.) can be gamnished for unpaid
restitution. To collect this type of income,
file the Request and Writ for Garnish-
ment (Periodic) [SCAQ Form MC 12]in
the court that issued the original crimi-
nal case's "case number". The crimina
case judge must sign the farm. Then

serve it on the defendant's employer
(the gamishea). Serve the defendant,
who has up to 14 days o file objections
1o the writ with the court. "Periodic” gar-
nishment orders last for up to 91 days. If
your restitution is still not fully paid, re-
peat the process by filing a new MC 12
form. There is no fee for filing the re-
quest and Writ for Garnishment. The
Crime Victim's Rights Act provides that
the court shall not impose a fee on a vic-
tim or victim's estate for enforcing an
order of restitution. MCL 780.766 (20)

Same forms of ncome ang axempt from gar-
nishment, inciuding the first $500 in savings
accounts; [RAs; Social Securty; S5I; AFDC;
General Assistance benafils; unemploymant
compensafion benefits; and warkers' com-
pensafion benefis.

Forms & Self-Help Info
are availabie a
courts.michigan. gow/scaoicourtforms!
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